Day Two

Standard

Today we will be fasting from the negative emotion called Fear. Fear is a close kin to Anxiety, which makes it hard for a person to live their life to the fullest. Everyone gets scared from time to time but its bad to totally give in to this feeling. People who are constantly fearful long to be free from this negative emotion. No one enjoys having restless nights or becoming so paranoid that they can’t trust anyone. God wants to drive Fear far away from us so that we will no longer be tortured by the scary thoughts it gives us. Here are some wonderful promises from His Word that can soothe the troubled heart:

“Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of My righteousness: Isaiah 41:10 KJV.

“For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.” 2 Timothy 1:7 KJV.

“What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee. In God I will praise His word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.” Psalm 56:3-4 KJV.

“No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is of Me, saith the Lord.” Isaiah 54:17 KJV.

“So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.” Hebrews 13:6 KJV.

“Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” John 14:27 KJV.

“…Be not afraid, only believe.” Mark 5:36 KJV.

God promises to take care of us if we will believe Him and trust in Him.

And keep in mind that there are certain things that can encourage Fear to rise up again and fill your life with dread. If you are watching, listening, or reading things that are meant to cause your heart to pound and your head to sweat, set them aside and follow these principles in Philippians 4:8:

“Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.” (NKJV)

Leave a comment